Olympic Derby Berlin
The feat Herbert Ulonska pulled off in 1990 in Rostock – developing a vision, finding partners and implementing an idea – was something he also achieved with great aplomb in Berlin, from 1998 onwards. At the old Olympic site in the capital there was, and still is, an ideally-situated tournament ground complete with bumps and water, a classic grass tournament ground. Ulonska founded the Olympic Derby Berlin there, an international competition with show jumping over natural obstacles. In 2001 the Olympic Derby was also part of the Riders Tour.

CSI Rostock – pioneering spirit
Immediately after reunification in 1990 Herbert Ulsonka was the first person to have the faith in himself to get an international tournament up and running near Rostock, in Dummersdorf. The initiative went down well – not only in Rostock-Dummersdorf but also amongst international riders. In the first year – without currency conversion – one simply exchanged 1:1. Subsequently this small village near the Hanseatic city played host to regular CSIs until space requirements increased and the site was no longer big enough. The CSI moved house!

CSI Redefin – Sport at the State Stud
What began in Rostock was picked up at the Redefin State Stud in 2000. Following the model in Neustadt-Dosse, this famous breeding site became the venue for an international tournament, providing continuity for a big equestrian sports event in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. For more than ten years Ulonska’s involvement guaranteed international visitors and a spotlight on Redefin.

Olympic Derby Berlin
Das was, Herbert Ulonska schon in Rostock 1990 auszeichnete – eine Vision entwickeln, Partner finden und eine Idee dann auch umsetzen – gelang für mehrere Jahre ab 1998 auch in Berlin. Auf dem alten Olympiagelände in der Hauptstadt gab und gibt es einen idyllisch gelegenen Turnierplatz mit Bodenwellen und Wasser, ein klassischer Grasplatz. Dort zog Ulonska das Olympic Derby Berlin auf, international mit einem Springen über Naturhindernisse. Das Olympic Derby war 2001 auch Bestandteil der Riders Tour.

CSI Rostock – Gründergeist
Unmittelbar nach der Wende im Jahr 1990 war Herbert Ulonska der erste, der sich traute, ein internationales Turnier in der Nähe von Rostock, in Dummerstorf auf die „Beine zu stellen“. Die Initiative kam gut an – sowohl in Rostock-Dummerstorf, als auch bei den internationalen Reitern. Im ersten Jahr – ohne Währungsumstellung – tauschte man einfach 1:1. In der Folge war das kleine Dorf nahe der Hansestadt Gastgeber regelmäßiger CSI bis der Platzbedarf wuchs und nicht befriedigt werden konnte. Das CSI zog um!

CSI Redefin – Sport auf dem Landgestüt
Was einst in Rostock begann wurde auf dem Landgestüt Redefin 2000 fortgesetzt. Dem Vorbild in Neustadt-Dosse folgend, wurde die berühmte Zuchtstätte Standort eines internationalen Turniers. Damit war die Kontinuität für ein großes Pferdesportereignis in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern gewahrt. Mehr als zehn Jahre lang garantierte das Engagement Ulonskas internationalen Besuch und Aufmerksamkeit für Redefin.